Beer, Surfboards, Knitting, Writing…

My time and energy of late has been taken up by the move of the store where I work, Central Coast Surfboards. We only moved three blocks, but a move is still a move… and not something I care to do very often. Our new shop is awesome and things are settling down a bit now that the move is behind us.

I’m looking forward to having more energy outside of work, so I can get back on track with my knitting, brewing, and writing. I have a smoked porter in the secondary fermentor and will be bottling that batch in a week. Next up on my brewing schedule is a repeat of batch #2, which is a clone recipe for Fuller’s London Porter. After that, I’m considering branching off to another beer style.

Beer & Knitting research is continuing. We had a good turnout for Beer & Knitting night at Yarns… at the Adobe on July 12th. My husband, Chuck, brought a wonderful selection of beers, along with his extensive knowledge of beer and industry history. I brought my homebrewed porter and Carrie brought her homebrewed meads. We even managed to fit in a little knitting!

Preparations have begun for the Cuesta College Writer’s Conference, which is always a wonderful motivator for me to get serious about writing. I’m the lead volunteer for the conference, so I always start focusing on the event a couple of months in advance.

My knitting projects have been leaning on the simple side… the kind where you can chat, watch a movie, or get interrupted without losing track of where you are. As soon as I can handle it again, I’ll add a project or two that require a bit of brain function.

My walking to work activity has switched from reading to spinning with a drop spindle. I love working directly with the fiber, especially the wool I got at a farmer’s market in Madison, Wisconsin. If only it were legal to drink a beer on the way home from work!

-Jenne Hiigel

One thought on “Beer, Surfboards, Knitting, Writing…

  1. Hey Jenne! When and where is the next beer/knit night? I’m finally getting out of the Central Valley and back home to the Central Coast (for good!) this week and want to meet up with my fellow fiber friends.

    Just so you know – learning to knit a sock from your class at Yarnology has turned me into a MAJOR fan of handknit socks. I always have one on the needles as my portable knitting.

Leave a Reply

