Beer & Knitting Classes…

People have been baffled by my idea of combining beer and knitting into a book. Well, it’s time to take them to the next level of baffle-dom. I’ve decided to teach Beer & Knitting Classes.They will take place at Yarns…at the Adobe on the 2nd Saturday of each month from 2-5pm beginning in November. Here’s the lineup:

  • Nov 8th… American Wheat Beers & Dishcloths
  • Dec 13th… Christmas Beers & Knitted Ornaments
  • Jan 10th… Finishing (finishing touches on your beer and your knitting)
  • Feb 14th… Fruit Beers & Knitted Hearts
  • Mar 14th… Stout & Mitered Square Afghan
  • Apr 11th… North Coast Brewing Co & Pattern Design

We’ll discuss the beers and start tasting at the start of the class, and then get our knitting going while we finish our beer discussion. I plan to focus primarily on three different beers at each class. The knitting side will be fun projects and/or a couple of key techniques.

The other advantage of the classes is that the research I do for each class will help my book progress a bit faster. These should be fun and are already generating some enthusiasm.

-Jenne Hiigel

3 thoughts on “Beer & Knitting Classes…

  1. Hi Jenne,
    Is your book going to have recipes for beer? I have a lot of friends who brew there own beer and also knit. Or do you sell your recipes for the beer?
    Love, Kandra

  2. I’ve only brewed four batches so far and am using other people’s recipes for my beers, so I don’t have original recipes to pass on…yet. My plan for my book does not currently include beer recipes or knitting patterns, but that might change as I get deeper into my writing. Glad to hear you know knitters who brew. That’s awesome!
    -Jenne

Leave a Reply

